Mathisen & Bishop

Norwegian ambient jazz duo consisting of Svein Rikard Mathisen (guitar, electronics) and John Derek Bishop (live-sampling, electronics). The duo released their critically acclaimed debut album "Calm Brutalism" on Curling Legs in 2022, and have since toured in Norway and Germany.

John Derek Bishop has released seven albums on Jazzland Recordings (under the alias Tortusa) and was nominated for Spellemannsprisen (Norwegian Grammy) for «I Know This Place - The Eivind Aarset Collages». He has collaborated and released music with Arve Henriksen, Eivind Aarset, Nils Petter Molvær, Erland Dahlen, and Jan Bang to name a few. His solo album “Bre” received 4 of 5 stars in Mojo Magazine and Future Music Magazine.

Svein Rikard Mathisen has released three albums, written one commissioned work for the Nattjazz-festival in Bergen and been touring extensively for the last seven years, with his own projects.

"Calm Brutalism" is not only an unusual experiment, which may initiate a completely new musical trend, but also an album that is perfectly listenable in isolation from its sonic idea. It is an album that is unconditionally engaging and intriguing from start to finish” - Robert Ratajczak


This is something that works better with every listen, the tiny details making their way out like petals unfurling after warmth and rain. It draws you away from the travails of the day and places you somewhere new and enticing. It is an adventure worthy of any sound loverʼs time. ” - Mr Olivetti